Derby Contenders

Prep Race History

PDF Download Past Performances
Date Race Grade Distance Finish Chart Replay
May 1 1999 125th Kentucky Derby Churchill Downs I 1 1/4 1 N/A


D. Wayne Lukas


Hall of Famer D. Wayne Lukas is a four-time Kentucky Derby winner and will saddle his record 48Th Derby starter in 2015. A four-time Eclipse Award winner (1985-87 and 1994), Lukas is the all-time leading money winner and the first to reach the $200 million plateau. He saddled a record six straight Triple Crown race winners starting in 1994 and has a record 14 overall winners of Triple Crown events. The 78-year-old horseman, known in racing circles as the “Coach,” is also responsible for 20 individual Breeders’ Cup winners and has led the trainers’ standings by money earned on 14 occasions during his illustrious career. 

Chris Antley


Antley, a Ft. Lauderdale native, was a two time Kentucky Derby winner aboard Strike the Gold (1991) and Charismatic (1999). In 1985 he was the US Champion Jockey.  He also won the Preakness Stakes in 1999.  In 1987 he was the first rider to win 9 races on 9 different horses in a single day, and in 1989 he won at least once race for 64 consecutive days.

Robert B. & Beverly J. Lewis


Robert and Beverly Lewis owned six Eclipse Award winning horses, including 1997 and 1999 Horses of the Year and Kentucky Derby winners Silver Charm and Charismatic. The couple were awarded the Ecplise Award of Merit in 1997, the industry's highest honor. Other notable horses owned by the Lewis' include: Timber Country, Serena's Song, Fokelore, and Orientate.

William S. Farish



Summer Squall - Bali Babe by Drone

Download Full Pedigree (PDF)

Check back soon for Charismatic pedigree, powered by Brisnet

Powered by Brisnet