This sterling silver Arkansas Derby trophy was presented to owner Helen Hexter after her horse Hostage won the race in 1982. In addition to owning the racehorse, Helen and her husband, Paul Hexter, also bred Hostage.
The Arkansas Derby was run for the first time in 1936, and it has become one of the most important prep races in the Road to the Kentucky Derby” series. Three horses that have won the Arkansas Derby have gone on to win the Kentucky Derby: Sunny’s Halo in 1983, Smarty Jones in 2004 and American Pharoah in 2015.

Visit the Kentucky Derby Museum to learn more about the tradition, history, hospitality and pride of the Kentucky Derby.

Follow us for the latest news, updates, and contests:
Privacy Policy
Thank you to our sponsor