Steven Asmussen became the third trainer this weekend to win 700 races at Churchill Downs. His first win at the historic racetrack took place on May 13, 1993, when Snake Eyes won an allowance turf race under Hall of Fame jockey Pat Day.

Asmussen was inducted into the National Museum of Racing Hall of Fame in 2016. Overall, he has won more than 8,400 races, which is second behind the horse racing’s all-time leader Dale Baird, who collected 9,445 wins before his death in 2007.

 Dale Romans and Bill Mott are the only other trainers who have reached the 700-win milestone at Churchill Downs.




Follow us for the latest news, updates, and contests:
Privacy Policy
Thank you to our sponsor