Mike E. Smith

Mike Smith has been a fixture of American Thoroughbred Racing for over three decades. He has 22 races at the Breeders’ Cup World Championships, a record amongst all jockeys. Enshrined in to the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame in 2003, Smith has over 5,300 victories to his name. He has also claimed four Triple Crown victories. He rode Giacomo to his only Kentucky Derby win in 2005, and was aboard Prairie Bayou for the 1993 Preakness Stakes. Smith also rode Drosselmeyer to the 2010 Belmont Stakes winner’s circle, and repeated in 2013 aboard Palace Malice. Smith has also been decorated with various distinctions including the the ESPY Award for Top U.S. Jockey (1993), Eclipse Award for Outstanding Jockey (1993, 1994(, Mike Venezia Memorial Award (1994), and the George Woolf Memorial Jockey Award (2000). His notable mounts include Ajina, Awesome Again, Azeri, Bodemeister, Cherokee Run, Coronado’s Quest, Holy Bull, Lure, Mine That Bird, Royal Delta, Shared Belief, Skip Away, Sky Beuty, Stardom Bound, Thunder Gulch, Tiago, Unbridled’s Song, Vindication and the legendary Zenyatta.

Sign up for race updates and contender stories:
Privacy Policy
Thank you to our sponsor