Thirteen (13) 3-year-old Thoroughbreds have joined the list of horses eligible to compete in the three spring classic races that make up the 2011 Triple Crown series.  Those horses were nominated at a cost of $6,000 each during the Triple Crown’s late nomination period and are now eligible to run in the $2 million guaranteed Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (Grade I) at Churchill Downs, the $1 million Preakness (GI) at Pimlico and the $1 million Belmont Stakes (GI) at Belmont Park.

The addition of 13 horses to the roster of nominees to the 2011 Triple Crown nomination roster brings the total number of nominees to 377.  Early nominations to the Triple Crown closed on Saturday, Jan. 22 with 364 3-year-old Thoroughbreds – headed by unbeaten juvenile champion Uncle Mo – made eligible to compete in the three-race series. Early Triple Crown nominations required a fee of $600. The late nomination period closed at midnight (EDT) on Saturday, March 26.

The most accomplished of the horses listed among the late Triple Crown nominees are Watch Me Go, winner of the Tampa Bay Derby (GIII); Norman Asbjornson, runner-up to Stay Thirsty in the Gotham (GIII) at Aqueduct; unbeaten Smoke It Right, winner of the Mountain Valley at Oaklawn Park; Turf Paradise Derby winner Beer Meister; Rushaway winner Swift Warrior and Joe’s Blazing Aaron, winner of the Palm Beach (GIII) on turf at Gulfstream Park.

Horses made eligible for the Triple Crown in the late nomination period include:







Beer Meister

James Egger & William Burns

Manuel Ortiz Sr.



Bowman’s Causeway

Martin Schwartz

Patrick Biancone



Joe’s Blazing Aaron

Joseph Witek

Mike Maker



Lagoon of Diamonds

Charles Fipke

Kelly Ackerman



Nacho Saint

Lori & George Hall

Kelly Breen



Norman Asbjornson

Thomas McClay & Harry Nye

Christopher Grove



Ruler On Ice

Lori & George Hall

Kelly Breen



Saratoga Red

Robert Baker & William Mack

D. Wayne Lukas



Smoke It Right

Rand Metoyer & Benard Chatters

Benard Chatters



Swift Warrior

James Covello & James Dolan

John Terranova II



Truman’s Commander

Robert LaPenta & Harry Rosenblum

Nick Zito



War Pact

Joseph Allen

Jean-Claude Rouget



Watch Me Go

Gilbert Campbell

Kathleen O’Connell



The 1 ¼-mile Kentucky Derby, first run at its Louisville, Ky. home in 1875 and now the oldest continuously held sporting event in America, is the first leg of horse racing’s coveted Triple Crown: three classic races with each run over a different track and at a different distance during a five-week period. Two weeks after the Derby on Saturday, May 21, the 136th Preakness Stakes will be run at a distance of 1 3/16 miles at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Md. The annual series concludes three weeks after the Preakness on June 11 with the 143rd Belmont Stakes – the 1 ½-mile “Test of the Champion” – at New York’s Belmont Park.

All three races will be televised live on NBC Sports and Horse Racing Radio Network (HRRN) will provide national radio coverage of all three races.

Owners and trainers have one more opportunity to make their horses eligible to run in the Kentucky Derby.  Supplemental nominations can be made at the time of entry on Wednesday, May 4 at a cost of $200,000, or 10% of the $2 million guaranteed purse.  Preference will be given to horses made eligible during the early and late nomination phases over supplemental nominees.