75,000 Isaac Murphy Marathon (Black Type)

5th Running – Wednesday, May 3, 2023 (Spring Meet) Overnight Stakes for 4-Year-Olds & Up at 11/2 Miles on Dirt at Churchill Downs Stakes & Course Record - 2:29.58, Ry's the Guy (2020)

Name Origin: Churchill Downs Racetrack renamed the Derby Week stakes race to honor the legacy of a legendary African-American and native Kentuckian who was arguably the greatest jockey American racing has ever known - Isaac Murphy. The featured overnight stakes race on Champions Day was formerly known as the Champions Day Marathon. Murphy is only the seventh individual to have a Churchill Downs stakes race named in his honor, joining Churchill Downs founder Col. M. Lewis Clark (Clark), former Churchill Downs President Matt Winn (Matt Winn), "My Old Kentucky Home" composer Stephen Foster (Stephen Foster), Hall of Fame trainer D. Wayne Lukas (Lukas Classic), Churchill Downs all-time winningest jockey Pat Day (Pat Day Mile) and fellow African-American riding great William "Billy" Walker Sr. (William Walker), the leading jockey at six of the track's first 13 meets and winner of the 1877 Kentucky Derby aboard Baden-Baden. More than 50 stakes races are staged at the Louisville, Ky. track annually. "Churchill Downs strongly believes in preserving and sharing the stories of the African-American jockeys who are an integral part of the legacy of the Kentucky Derby," said Churchill Downs Racetrack President Mike Anderson. "As we continue to recognize key contributors to our storied history, we believe now more than ever, it is critical to develop new ways to share these stories widely by incorporating them into our Derby Week traditions. It is important to amplify the stories of these great jockeys, to acknowledge the painful truths that led to their exclusion from horse racing in our country more than 100 years ago and to herald their legendary contributions to our sport and to the Kentucky Derby." Born Jan. 1, 1861 in Frankfort, Ky., the son of a former slave who was a Union solider during the Civil War, Isaac Burns Murphy made the most of his natural talent to ride Thoroughbreds, and gained fame, wealth and elite social status that was uncommon for an African-American in the 19th century. Murphy was the first back-to-back and three-time winner of the Kentucky Derby. He rode his first Derby winner in 1884 aboard Buchanan and took back-to-back editions of the race in 1890 aboard Riley and 1891 with Kingman. As the greatest rider of his generation, he was known for his amazingly high win percentage. When the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame announced their inaugural class in 1955, Murphy was the first jockey inducted into horse racing's Hall of Fame. More information about Murphy is detailed online at https://www.racingmuseum.org/hall-of-fame/jockey/isaac-b-murphy.

Year (Race No.) Dis. (Starters)	Winner (Age/Sex) Owner(s)	Jockey (Weight) Trainer	Second Third	Time (Condition) Odds (Margin)	Sire Bred (Color)	Gross Purse-Gr. Winner's Share-#
2023-May 3 (8th)	Warrant (5h)	Flavien Prat (118)	Red Run	2:31.03 (fast)	Constitution	\$175,000
1 1/2 Miles (6)	Twin Creeks Racing Stables LLC	Brad Cox	Next*	3.31-1 (neck)	Kentucky (Ch.)	\$106,518—5
2022-May 3 (2nd)	Lone Rock (7g)*	Ramon Vasquez (123)	Hozier	2:33.49 (sloppy)	Majestic Warrior	\$158,700
1 1/2 Miles (5)	Flying P Stable, R. A. Hill Stable & Flying Partners	Robertino Diodoro	Current	0.30-1 (7 ½ lengths)	Kentucky (B.)	\$97,900—4
2021-April 27 (8th)	Lone Rock (6g)*	Ramon Vasquez (120)	Ry's the Guy	2:30.52 (fast)	Majestic Warrior	\$128,000
1 1/2 Miles (7)	Flying P Stable	Robertino Diodoro	Portos	0.90-1 (3 3/4 lengths)	Kentucky (B.)	\$78,684—3
2020-Sept 1 (4th)	Ry's the Guy (4c)*	Chris Landeros (120)	Rated R Superstar	TR-2:29.58 (fast)	Distorted Humor	\$115,400
1 1/2 Miles (5)	Lothenbach Stables Inc.	Ian Wilkes	Eskenforit	1.00-1 (4 3/4 lengths)	Kentucky (B.)	\$71,358—2
2019-April 30 (7th)	Sonneteer (5h)*	Corey Lanerie (123)	Royal Artillery	TR-2:30.42 (fast)	Midnight Lute	\$115,600
1 1/2 Miles (6)	Calumet Farm	Keith Desormeaux	Biblical	1.90-1 (7 1/4 lengths)	Kentucky (Dk B or Br.)	\$70,610—1

^{*-}Favorite ... Known as the Champions Day Marathon (2019-20) ... Presented by Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance in 2021.

2. Ramon Vasquez (2021-22)

2. Flying P Stable (2021-22)

2, Lone Rock (2021-22)

\$8.62, Warrant (2023)

Robertino Diodoro (2021-22)

Most Wins, Jockey: Most Wins, Trainer: Most Wins, Owner: Most Winers, Horse: High \$2 Win: Low \$2 Win:

\$2.60, Lone Rock (2022) Largest Win Margin:

7 1/2 lengths, Sonneteer (2019) and Lone Rock (2022)

Smallest Win Margin: neck, Warrant (2023) Largest Field Size: 7 (2021)

5 (2019, '22) Smallest Field Size:

Favorites Record: 5-4-0-1 (Win=80.0%; ITM=100.0%)

Favorites who finished off-the-board:

Fastest Splits - 1/4-mile: :24.41, Dack Janiel's (2021) Fastest Splits - 1/2-mile: :48.45, Dack Janiel's (2021) Fastest Splits - 3/4-mile: 1:13.83, Dack Janiel's (2021) Fastest Splits – 1 mile: 1:38.90, Dack Janiel's (2021)

Disqualifications: Off-tracks: Sloppy (2022)