MAIDENS IN THE DERBY

Buchanan (1884), Sir Barton (1919) and Brokers Tip (1933) are the only maidens to win the Kentucky Derby. Sir Barton would go on to become racing's first Triple Crown winner.

Twelve maidens (a horse that has never won a sanctioned race) have run in the Kentucky Derby since 1937 (records prior to 1937 are incomplete).

The following is a list of maidens that started in the Kentucky Derby from 1937 to present

in the Kentucky Derby from 1937 to present.

Maiden Starters in the Derby (Since 1937)

Maiden	Year	Finish	
Bodexpress	2019	13 th	
Sonneteer	2017	16 th	
Trojan Nation	2016	16 th	
Nationalore	1998	9 th	
Pendleton Ridge	1990	13 th	
Great Redeemer	1979	10^{th}	
Fourulla	1971	19 th	
The Chosen One	1959	14^{th}	
Flamingo	1958	13 th	
On The Mark	1950	8 th	
Senecas Coin	1949	14 th	
Bert G.	1945	14^{th}	

Due to incomplete records, only those maidens who won the Derby before 1937 are listed.

Brokers Tip	1933	1 st	
Sir Barton	1919	1 st	
Ruchanan	1884	1st	