UNDEFEATED STARTERS

The following is a list of 35 horses that were undefeated starters in the Kentucky Derby since 1915.

Nine exited the Derby unbeaten: Justify (2018), Nyquist (2016), Big Brown (2008), Barbaro (2006), Smarty Jones (2004), Seattle Slew (1977), Majestic Prince (1969), Morvich (1922) and the filly Regret (1915). Maximum Security (2019) cross the finish line in first but was disqualified to 17th for interference nearing the 5/16-pole.

Eighteen of the 35 undefeated horses were sent to post as the favorite.

Note: Thunderer (1916) was full-brother to 1915 winner Regret. They each made their firsts start as 3-year-olds in the Kentucky Derby, as did 1922 winner Morvich

winner Morvich.			
Undefeated Horse	Year	Wins	Finish
Kingsbarns	2023	3	14^{th}
Taiba	2022	2	12^{th}
Essential Quality*	2021	5	3^{rd}
Helium	2021	3	7^{th}
Rock Your World	2021	3	16 th
Maximum Security	2019	4	17^{th}
Justify*	2018	3	1 st
Magnum Moon	2018	4	19 th
Nyquist*	2016	7	1 st
Dortmund	2015	6	3 rd
Materiality	2015	3	6 th
Verrazano	2013	4	14^{th}
Gemologist	2012	5	16 th
Big Brown*	2008	3	1 st
Curlin	2007	3	3 rd
Barbaro	2006	5	1 st
Showing Up	2006	3	6 th
Smarty Jones*	2004	6	1 st
China Visit	2000	2	6 th
Trippi	2000	4	11^{th}
Indian Charlie*	1998	4	3^{rd}
Mister Frisky*	1990	16	8 th
Private Terms*	1988	7	9 th
Air Forbes Won*	1982	4	7^{th}
Sensitive Prince	1978	6	6 th
Seattle Slew*	1977	6	1 st
Majestic Prince*	1969	7	1 st
Candy Spots*	1963	6	3 rd
No Robbery	1963	5	5 th
Native Dancer*	1953	11	2^{nd}
Coaltown (e)*	1948	4	2 nd
Bimelech*	1940	8	2 nd
Morvich*	1922	11	1 st
Thunderer (e)*	1916	3	5 th
			1 st