1. Held annually at Oaklawn Park since 1936 (except in the war year of 1945), the Arkansas Derby is one of the most highly-attended races in the country as the city of Hot Springs swells to nearly three times its size. Estimated crowds exceeding 60,000 are common, with the all-time record of 72,484 set in 2006. Only the Kentucky Derby, Preakness, Kentucky Oaks, and the occasional Belmont Stakes and Breeders' Cup Saturday attract larger crowds.

2. The first Arkansas Derby winner to achieve national fame was 1968 winner Nodouble, who would go on to be named champion older male in 1969 and co-champion in 1970. Nodouble is also widely considered the most talented Thoroughbred ever foaled in the state of Arkansas.

3. The first Arkansas Derby winner to go on and win a Triple Crown race was Elocutionist, who captured the 1976 Preakness. Temperence Hill won the Arkansas Derby four years later and went on to pull off a 53-1 upset of the Belmont Stakes over Kentucky Derby-winning filly Genuine Risk. It was not until 1983 when Sunny's Halo became the first horse to win the Kentucky Derby after taking the Arkansas Derby.

4. Two other colts, Smarty Jones (2004) and American Pharoah (2015), have pulled off the Arkansas-Kentucky Derby double. American Pharoah, of course, also became the sport's 12th Triple Crown winner after taking the Preakness and Belmont. Kentucky Derby winners Lil E. Tee (1992), Grindstone (1996), and Super Saver (2010) also turned in their final Derby preps at Oaklawn by finishing second in the Arkansas Derby.

5. Preakness and/or Belmont winners Tank's Prospect (1985), Pine Bluff (1992), Victory Gallop (1998), Afleet Alex (2005), Curlin (2007), and Creator (2016) all won the Arkansas Derby. The only filly to win the race was Althea (1984), the D. Wayne Lukas-trained juvenile champion of the previous year.

(Coady Photography)